The Storm Of The Century


The Storm of the Century

I will never forget it.  It was like rain tapping on the glass then all of a sudden the storm came it was rain, hail, lighting, darkness and most of all my fear.  Fear of never recovering, fear of losing all that I had.  What do I do now?  Should I just wait till the storm ends and find my way out of the cold, wet, and soppy atmosphere that has just destroyed my world?

I haven’t seen the sun in days, years for that fact but I keep telling myself that storms don’t last that long.  Look at the Tsunami in Asia, the tornadoes in Oklahoma, so many have been destroyed but yet my storm only destroys me.  Look at the survivors of Katrina reflect in the back of your mind how the storm terrified, devastated and demoralized their world.  Will peace ever come?  Will the joy some how rise above the waters that swept away their whole world?  Will the children ever laugh again without being afraid of the levee barriers being broken in their lives?

Storms come and storms go but what remains is the residue that the rain has left.  She’s nicer now, life isn’t so less important to her she actually stops and smells the roses.  The old man walking down the street actually smiles when he sees her.  She’s more pleasant now.  The children play in her yard without the terrifying fact that of something being thrown at them, the neighbors stop by and get their daily laugh, all of this because of a storm? Huh.  Who would have thought?

The Lady that couldn’t take any more and tried to eliminate the breath God gave her, she’s in an institution now.  She just couldn’t cope, the husband, the children, the job, her past and school?  Naw, her mind wasn’t strong enough for that afraid of failure that was her plight.   The cookie baking, proper speaking, well mannered soccer player moms all had their eye on her. One slip up and Bam!  She’s no longer apart of our culture, our teeny tiny made up world.  So she sits trying frantically to mend her broken life back together.

I had that same storm.  I held on to whatever little sanity that I had cause if I would have let go, then that white straight jacket that ties around the back and leaves you no room to breath would have been waiting for me.

No longer will there be a frown on my face, anger in my heart or pain in my soul.  I have learned that a smile can brighten a day, a hug can dry a tear, and a thank you can improve a situation.  My spirit is free now gloating on the fact God has removed all my pains.  The sun shines on me now   the fullness of my day leaves me in sheer restoration.  I can go to bed knowing that the angels that rest upon me have somewhat giving me a new lease on life.  I smell the ocean, I listen to the trees, I hear the whispers of the wind,   I can feel again!

The Storm of the Century, the hurricane that almost swept me away, the tornado that disfigured my soul, who would have thought that a storm could leave behind the sweet smell of love, kindness, purity, spirituality and innocence that a white  rose would leave behind for a beautiful well decorated bride on her wedding day.

 

Leave a Reply

