There’s no Sorrow to God’s Blessings


butterflyAs I was driving down the street, I sighed when I passed the now closed Pizza Hut that my husband and I went to on the day I found out I was pregnant. I can remember the excitement we felt and the anticipation of the next eight-months to come. While we celebrated over pizza and pop all of a sudden the horrible memory of past miscarriages begin to still our joy and the moment of celebration turned into doubt, fear, and depression. All of a sudden the pains of the past had tarnished our hope for the future. In that bitter/sweet moment, I could hear the Holy Spirit gently say “That’s just how my children are. They go through so many trials, and disappointments that when I start pouring out blessings they are too afraid to receive them”. As the spirit spoke, I reflected on how I had become a bit hesitant to receive God’s blessings because of the painful past and the troubles ahead. In times such as this a constant renewal in the spirit will remind us of God’s love and protection for us. It is important that we understand that our Blessings are not curses but our reward for enduring the painful and oftentimes devastating waves of life. We need not be afraid of the terror by night, nor for the arrow that flies by day; for God will protect and keep us when we are faced with the trials and storms on this road that we call life.

The blessing of the Lord, it maketh rich, and he addeth no sorrow with it. Proverbs 10:22

Leave a Reply

